A Relational God to His People

I waited and waited and waited for God . At last he looked; finally he listened. He lifted me out of the ditch, pulled me from deep mud. He stood me up on a solid rock to make sure I wouldn’t slip. He taught me how to sing the latest God-song, a praise-song to our God. More and more people are seeing this: they enter the mystery, abandoning themselves to God . Blessed are you who give yourselves over to God , turn your backs on the world’s “sure thing,” ignore what the world worships; The world’s a huge stockpile of God -wonders and God-thoughts. Nothing and no one comes close to you! I start talking about you, telling what I know, and quickly run out of words. Neither numbers nor words account for you. Doing something for you, bringing something to you— that’s not what you’re after. Being religious, acting pious— that’s not what you’re asking for. You’ve opened my ears so I can listen. So I answered, “I’m coming. I read in your letter what you wrote about me, And I’m coming to the party you’re throwing for me.” That’s when God’s Word entered my life, became part of my very being. I’ve preached you to the whole congregation, I’ve kept back nothing, God —you know that. I didn’t keep the news of your ways a secret, didn’t keep it to myself. I told it all, how dependable you are, how thorough. I didn’t hold back pieces of love and truth For myself alone. I told it all, let the congregation know the whole story. Now God , don’t hold out on me, don’t hold back your passion. Your love and truth are all that keeps me together. When troubles ganged up on me, a mob of sins past counting, I was so swamped by guilt I couldn’t see my way clear. More guilt in my heart than hair on my head, so heavy the guilt that my heart gave out. Soften up, God , and intervene; hurry and get me some help, So those who are trying to kidnap my soul will be embarrassed and lose face, So anyone who gets a kick out of making me miserable will be heckled and disgraced, So those who pray for my ruin will be booed and jeered without mercy. But all who are hunting for you— oh, let them sing and be happy. Let those who know what you’re all about tell the world you’re great and not quitting. And me? I’m a mess. I’m nothing and have nothing: make something of me. You can do it; you’ve got what it takes— but God, don’t put it off.

Psalm 40:1‭-‬17 MSG

Sitting down at the Joppa House, a Christian prayer and worship gathering in Rogers, Arkansas, the Spirit of the Lord moved. I am thankful to have an intimate abiding relationship with Jesus. The night at Joppa House, was even more amazing. The Psalm 40 passage spoke out from my week. 

Here is what I received from the Lord on Psalm 40:

Patience: The first verse of the Psalm begins with waiting. Waiting on what?  Waiting on the Lord. In our day with instant gratification and instant everything, David explains what happened when he waited on our Lord…..He revealed himself to David. The Lord is telling us and showing us sometimes we need to be still and quiet ourselves. God wants our attention, sometimes it begins with us being still and waiting. 

Power-overhaul: Verse two we find after the Lord gets our attention(verse 2), He takes us from where we are, cleans us, and reestablishes our footing. When the flesh, the world, and the devil  get attached on us intentionally or unintentionally, our focus on Him is not healthy and fully connected. God does great cleansing and healing and reconnecting us to Him. Removal of sin and refocusing on Him allows for spiritual growth in our lives. 

Praise: Verse three brings a new clean start with a new song. How do I sing a new song to my Lord and Creator?  The other part of verse three explains the best place to learn a love song to the Lord is by learning from the one I am singing. A Spirit refreshed life supernaturally pours out heart thanks praise to our Creator. 

Promises: Verses four and five we can find blessings and promises from the trusting the Lord in his works. 

Passion: Verse eight brings a passion with those in a restored life. God is passionately in love with us and our response is passion back to our God.

Proclaim: Verse nine and ten bridges our vertical relationship with our Creator and goes horizontal to others. This love story cannot be contained between one person and God. It spills over to others. Proclaiming our love about our God gets others excited knowing they too can experience this relationship with their Creator.

Protection: The final verses(11-17) show the protection of our Lord to us His creation. True love protects. True love cares for one another. Protection brings strength to relationships. Protection weathers the storms of life. The Lord cares to protect you and I because He love us.

My night at the Joppa House ended with some prayer of encouragement from the Joppa House volunteers. God has a purpose for directing me to places like Joppa House and church. He purposefully shows me His love.  He showed me His love in Psalm 40. He shows me His love so I can share it with others. 


One thought on “A Relational God to His People”

Leave a Reply

